We Who Walk Again


Ghost Ensemble‘s debut album, We Who Walk Again, is here! Order here for LP or digital download.

Praise for We Who Walk Again:

“The Macklay piece, inspired by kaleidoscope patterns, oscillates between brief, rhythmically oriented kernels and somewhat stretched-out sequences, the tones in the latter engagingly sour, especially the multiphonics and microtones from the oboe. There’s a certain wry playfulness to it — at times it reminded me of a calliope — and an interesting mix of modern techniques within a structure that retains an amount of classicalness. It might fit comfortably into a Bang On a Can program, but it’s better than that. Oliveros’s ‘Angels & Demons’ is a text score, asking the ensemble to evoke “collective guardian spirits” (angels) and “individual spirits of creative genius” (demons) … Low, growling bass attacks help ground the long, floating lines above; soil and mist. Very fine ensemble playing — excellent listening to one another.
The Richter work occupies Side B. A cloudy, mysterious and dark opening, low rumbles and moans with the odd sharp glint through the shadows. It throbs, pulsates, moves inch by inch, Beckettian in its slow spread. Some wonderful tonalities are generated in the shifting lines of varying lengths, the interplay of those deep tones with the soft plucking of the harp and an occasional hesitant but steady, dull beat of a drum. Matters begin to coalesce toward the end, dense lines forming, surging off into the hazy dark, perhaps offering just a bit more direction than was apparent at the start; not a light at the end of a tunnel, but maybe the faintest of glimmers. A very strong piece, my favorite on this recording.
Very good work all around, certainly a group to keep an eye on.”
— Brian Olewnick, Just Outside (read more here)

“Three compositions, two by members of the group and one by famed John Cage contemporary Pauline Oliveros, roar and overtake you … Best of all it all sounds quite freshthere’s a spark here that seems to have been missing from some of the experimental music I’ve had the at times (dis)pleasure of hearing.”
— Christopher Stigliano, Blog to Comm (read more here)


We’re thrilled to be in California this month for our first-ever West Coast concert series presenting an ambitious program of experimental music centered around our new album, We Who Walk Again. For this endeavor, we have recently received an FCA Emergency Grant and mounted a crowdfunding campaign through our fiscal sponsor, Fractured Atlas, but we still need your help for this tour and beyond. Ghost Ensemble depends on your support to make this music happen, with a bountiful season in store for the coming year. Although our crowdfunding campaign has concluded, Ghost Ensemble is still accepting donations toward our 2018 season on Fractured Atlas; contributions for the purposes of Ghost Ensemble are tax-deductible to the extent permitted by law.


May 17, 2018: San Francisco, CA
Center for New Music
Tickets on sale now

May 19, 2018: Santa Cruz, CA
Indexical, Wind River
Ghost Ensemble: We Who Walk Again
Tickets on sale now

May 20, 2018: Paso Robles, CA
Tickets on sale now

May 22, 2018Los Angeles, CA
secret location

May 23, 2018: San Diego, CA
Bread & Salt
Athenaeum Art Center presents Ghost Ensemble
Tickets on sale now

Please take a look at our 2018 season fundraiser to help make this tour happen!


 ————— ::: —————

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close